Design ideas

My first design is a 50s style dress with 50s style pattern that I designed on. The dress is a full skirt with a sweetheart neckline. My embroidery pieces would be on the skirt coming from the waist and going down the skirt. I would get a digital print of my grandad and stitch that on the front of the dress using a zig zag stitch and will have the day he died around the picture.

My second design is a 50s style pencil dress. It would have a 50s style pattern on that I designed, different to the 1st one. The dress would be just under the knee with a v neck. I would put my grandads name down one side of the skirt and the day he died down the other side. I would make a belt using embroidered flowers and put embroidery pieces about his life on the neckline. I would also put a digital print on the back using zig zag stitch.

My third design is a 50s style dress with a full skirt. I would put the embroidery pieces on the bottom of the skirt as putting them on the waistline down wouldn’t work so well as I would have pleats in the skirt. I would then have the embroidery flowers on the waistband and straps and a digital print on the front using a zig zag stitch.

My fourth design is a 50s style full skirt dress. It would be a sweetheart neckline with straps. I would fill the top with my embroidery pieces and would use embroidery for the straps and the waistband. I would put flowers on the waistband and the straps as my grandad loved gardening and flowers. I think it could also be a nice decorative feature on the garment.

My fifth design is a bralet style top with a straight across neckline. It has photos of my grandad and celebrities and events screenprinted on in bright pink. The straps are thick and are white. The fastening will be a white zip in the back. As I was making this and continuing with research, my design changed slightly. The top has the same pink design but now has a v neck and the straps will be embroidered using letters and numbers that would spell out ‘ALG 22 APRIL 1926’. As I wanted to focus on the top first, I haven’t designed the skirt yet. I know the skirt will be just above the knee but as I finish the top I will start to think more about the design of the skirt and what I want to be on it.

My final design is a bralet style top with a v neck. It will have photos of my grandad and celebrities/events that he would have lived through and remembered screenprinted on in pink. The straps will be thick and will be the same fabric as the top. The straps will be tied around the neck with a bow at the back. The fastening will be a corset style back with thick pink silk ribbon. The skirt will be knee length. I will digital print a bright african/Jamaican inspired pattern on to the fabric.

 

Leave a Reply

